February 22, 2024

Who has the most Super Bowl wins? The teams and players with the most rings in NFL history

The Superbowl 2024 will see San Francisco 49ers take over the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday night, with both franchises hoping to take home another Lombardi Trophy.

Patrick Mahomes is looking to win his third Super Bowl, which would tie him with Troy Aikman for the third-most Super Bowl rings of any quarterback in NFL history. The San Francisco 49ers, meanwhile, are hoping to win their sixth Super Bowl in franchise history, which will put them in a tie for first place.

Below is a list of the teams and players who have won the most Super Bowls in NFL history.

Note: All Super Bowls in this article are categorized by the year the game itself was played, not by the season for which the title was earned. This article also does not consider NFL championships before 1967, when the first Super Bowl was played.

Which teams have won the most Super Bowl wins?

The New England Patriots and the Pittsburgh Steelers are both tied for the most Super Bowl wins with six each. The Patriots also have the most Super Bowl appearances in history: eleven, after losing the title game five times. The Steelers have had eight outings, giving them two losses.

If the San Francisco 49ers win the 2024 Super Bowl, they will also win their sixth title in franchise history, putting them into a tie with the Patriots and Steelers. The Niners are currently tied with Dallas for second place with five Super Bowls.

Third place is also held by two teams, the Green Bay Packers and the New York Giants, both with four Super Bowl victories.

No team has ever won three Super Bowls in a row, but several teams have won back-to-back titles: the Patriots, 49ers, Packers, Cowboys, Miami Dolphins, Denver Broncos and the Steelers – who have accomplished the feat twice. .

Which players have the most Super Bowl wins overall?

Tom Brady has won the most Super Bowls of any player in NFL history with seven. Brady won the 2002, 2004, 2005, 2015, 2017 and 2019 Super Bowls as the quarterback of the New England Patriots, and the 2021 Super Bowl with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Brady also has the most Super Bowl appearances of any player in NFL history, having made 10 championship appearances in his career. His losses came at the hands of the New York Giants in 2008 and 2012, and to the Philadelphia Eagles in 2018. The 2008 loss prevented the Pats from reaching a 19-0 record and only the second undefeated season in history. NFL History.

Super Bowl LV - Tampa Bay Buccaneers vs. Kansas City Chiefs
Tom Brady and his daughter Vivian celebrate during the Super Bowl LV awards ceremony at Raymond James Stadium on February 7, 2021 in Tampa, Florida. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeated the Kansas City Chiefs 31-9.

Simon Bruty/Getty Images

Charles Haley has the second-most Super Bowl wins, with five. Haley played both linebacker and defensive end throughout his career with the San Francisco 49ers and the Dallas Cowboys. Haley won the 1989 and 1990 Super Bowls with the Niners, then won three more titles with the Cowboys in 1993, 1994 and 1996.

Third place is occupied by 34 players, all of whom have four Super Bowl rings:

  • Joe Montana
  • Terry Bradshaw
  • Rob Gronkowski
  • Adam Vinatieri
  • Mike Webster
  • Bill Romanowski
  • Ted Hendriks
  • Mel Bluunt
  • Larry Brown
  • Donnie Shell
  • John Stallworth
  • Ronnie Lot
  • Joe Greene
  • L. C. Greenwood
  • Franco Harris
  • Johannes Kolb
  • Jesse Sapolu
  • Sam Davis
  • Jack Ham
  • Matt Millen
  • Keena Turner
  • Rocky Bleier
  • Jac Lambert
  • Loren Toews
  • Mike Wilson
  • Eric Wright
  • Steve Furness
  • JT Thomas
  • Mike Wagner
  • Dwight White
  • Gerry Mullins
  • Lynn Swan
  • Marv Fleming
  • Randy Grossman

Which quarterbacks have the most Super Bowl wins?

  • Tom Brady – 7 (2002, 2004, 2005, 2015, 2017, 2019 with the New England Patriots and 2021 with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
  • Joe Montana – 4 (1982, 1985, 1989 and 1990 with the San Francisco 49ers)
  • Terry Bradshaw – 4 (1975, 1976, 1979 and 1980 with the Pittsburgh Steelers)
  • Troy Aikman – 3 (1993, 1994 and 1996 with the Dallas Cowboys)
  • Steve Young – 3 (Young has three Super Bowl rings with the Niners, but only started one of those games, in 1995. He played briefly at the end of the 1990 Super Bowl when the game was well in hand and played not at all during the 1989 Super Bowl.)
  • Earl Morrall – 3 (Morrall was part of the Super Bowl winning team in 1971, 1973 and 1974, but did not start in any of those games and did not throw a single pass in the ’73 or ’74 games with the Miami Dolphins He replaced the injured Johnny Unitas for the Baltimore Colts in 1971.)
  • Patrick Mahomes – 2 (2020 and 2023 with the Kansas City Chiefs)
  • Eli Manning – 2 (2008 and 2012 with the New York Giants)
  • Peyton Manning – 2 (2007 with the Indianapolis Colts, 2016 with the Denver Broncos)
  • John Elway – 2 (1998 and 1999 with the Denver Broncos)
  • Ben Roethlisberger – 2 (2006 and 2009 with the Pittsburgh Steelers)
  • Roger Staubach – 2 (1972 and 1978 with the Dallas Cowboys)
  • Bob Griese – 2 (1973 and 1974 with the Miami Dolphins)
  • Bart Starr – 2 (1967 and 1968 with the Green Bay Packers)
  • Jim Plunkett – 2 (1981 and 1984 with the Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders)
  • Jim McMahon – 2 (1986 with the Chicago Bears. McMahan also has a ring from the 1997 season when he was on the Green Bay Packers roster, but he did not play in that game.)
  • Phil Simms – 2 (1987 and 1991 with the New York Giants. Simms did not play in the ’91 Super Bowl after suffering a broken foot near the end of the regular season.)
  • Jeff Hostetler – 2 (1987 and 1991 with the New York Giants. Hostetler did not play in the 1987 Super Bowl, but was the Giants’ third string quarterback.)
  • Mark Rypien – 2 (1988 and 1992 with Washington. Rypien did not play in the 1988 Super Bowl, but served as Doug Williams’ backup.)
  • Joe Namath – 1 (1969 with the New York Jets)
  • Joe Theismann – 1 (1983 with Washington)
  • Johnny Unitas – 1 (1971 with the Baltimore Colts)
  • Brett Favre – 1 (1997 with the Green Bay Packers)
  • Len Dawson – 1 (1970 with the Kansas City Chiefs)
  • Ken Stabler – 1 (1977 with the Oakland Raiders)
  • Doug Williams – 1 (1988 with Washington)
  • Trent Dilfer – 1 (2001 with the Baltimore Ravens)
  • Nick Foles – 1 (2018 with the Philadelphia Eagles)
  • Kurt Warner – 1 (2000 with the St. Louis Rams)
  • Drew Brees – 1 (2010 with the New Orleans Saints)
  • Brad Johnson – 1 (2003 with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
  • Joe Flacco – 1 (2013 with the Baltimore Ravens)
  • Aaron Rodgers – 1 (2011 with the Green Bay Packers)
  • Russell Wilson – 1 (2014 with the Seattle Seahawks)
  • Matthew Stafford – 1 (2022 with the Los Angeles Rams)

Super Bowl LVIII shall aired on CBS and Nickelodeon and streaming on Paramount+ on Feb. 11 from Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 PM ET.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *